Testimonials & Reviews

The Sternberg Clinic

Jeffrey A. Sternberg, MD, FACS, FASCRS

Pilonidal Surgery & Board-Certified Colorectal Surgeon located in Civic Center, Hayes Valley, San Francisco, CA

28 total reviews

Dr. Jeffrey A. Sternberg always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 28 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Jeffrey Sternberg below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Mollie M.
Submitted 04/23/18
This will be a very long story-review. It is needed to know the full effect of what pilonidal disease will do to someone and how life-changing Dr. Sternberg's procedure is. I have suffered with pilonidal disease for about the last two years. The first couple times it became inflamed, it was extremely painful but the acute exacerbation resolved itself both times. During these shorter exacerbations, I researched pilonidal disease and self-diagnosed my problem. I even read about Dr. Sternberg on a pilonidal disease forum. I had a friend previously who had a conventional surgical treatment for pilonidal disease and he had a terrible experience with a big hunk of tissue removed from his tailbone area. Dr. Sternberg's technique seemed a lot different from that, but I decided that mine wasn't so bad and I didn't need any surgical intervention so I moved on with my life. It wasn't until I was on vacay with my hubby in Ireland, June-July 2017, that it became inflamed and infected to the point of needing to go to the hospital! I was in so much pain I could barely walk or move and definitely couldn't sit without excruciating pain. I went to the A&E in Northern Ireland (the bright side of this story is that I got to experience a health care system other than the U.S... A long wait, standing for 3 hrs because I couldn't sit, in the A&E but no bill, no cost whatsoever. That was a shocker!). Anyway, the multiple providers I saw confirmed what I had already suspected, I had a pilonidal abscess. They wanted to do an incision and drainage procedure which would mean wound packing and staying in one Ireland location for at least 5-7 days (THE REMAINDER OF OUR VACATION). I opted out of this, they gave me antibiotics and pain medication and sent me on my way but insisted that I saw someone about the problem upon returning to the U.S., it was going to come back eventually. 'Ok, Ok, I will' I thought. The antibiotics did the trick and I was feeling better after a couple days. My husband and I made the most of the rest of our trip and came home. After returning home, I was feeling fine and of course I didn't bother going to see anyone about my pilonidal disease. Then... The week leading up to Thanksgiving 2017, my monster reared its ugly head again. I was down for the count. I was in so much pain I couldn't even sleep, I woke up one night feeling terrible, I almost thought I was septic. I went to an urgent care clinic the next day and pleaded with the NP to not do the incision and drainage that she wanted to do. I promised that I would go see the surgeon I had previously read about. She gave me antibiotics and pain meds and I called Dr. Sternberg's clinic that same day. Thankfully, I already live near the SF Bay Area and would not have to travel too far to see him. I got an appt for a consultation in January. Ok... I just have to be really careful and hope and pray that it doesn't get so bad again before January. Not to mention I was starting a new job as an RN at a hospital in January! I constantly had to sit sideways, alternating butt cheeks, sat on a neck pillow in the car on my way to and from work, I was miserable. I would feel it occasionally ramp up like it was going to get really bad, then it would go away...My consultation comes, I am a good candidate for the cleft lift surgery, YAY! Surgery won't happen until March, ughhh :-( I wait another miserable 2 months, unable to sit like a normal human being, having a constantly irritated tailbone area, and the ever-lingering threat of an infective assault on my body. Finally March is here! I'm excited and nervous of course. I stay the night in the city with my mom who is also an RN and will be my wound-care nurse after surgery. Surgery is bright and early, the surgery center was wonderful. Dr. Sternberg was always positive, smiling, and assured me that all would be great. The surgery went well, I went back to the hotel and did homework for my online BSN I am obtaining, hopped up on pain meds but I still got A's on my assignments ;-) The day after surgery I had a post-op follow-up appt and Dr. Sternberg taught my mom how to care for the incision and drain. Drain out 6 days later. I am now a little more than 5 weeks post-op and I am fantastic!! I am SOOO happy I chose to go to Dr. Sternberg. Changed my life forever. Thank you Dr. Sternberg!!
Patrick A.
Submitted 04/16/18
After dealing with a pilonidal cyst for over a year, Dr.Sternberg recommended I get a cleft lift. 6 weeks after the surgery, I'm completely healed and I can finally exercise as much as I'd like! Dr.Sternberg has a great bed side manor, and I would highly recommend seeing him if you're suffering from any of the issues he specializes in.
Sam B.
Submitted 03/19/18
I had the cleft lift done back on January 10th of this year and I could not be happier! After 4 failed surgeries and multiple visits to wound care "specialists" I found Dr. Sternberg online and decided it was time to go to San Fran. He was extremely professional, outgoing and kind and made the whole process very easy. Fast forward to now and I am completely healed and back to all activities before this whole thing started. I am so thankful for Dr. Sternberg and his whole team for helping me get rid of this problem.
Jack B.
Submitted 02/05/18
So far, my cleft lift seems to have been accomplished with a minimal amount of pain by a team of true professionals. At every stage: scheduling, pre-surgery, surgical visit, and follow-ups - they listened, they gave advice, and they guided us through an anxious time. I must say, though, I was never afraid because Dr Sternberg always seemed fully committed and knowledgeable about the procedure. I am greatly relieved that I had this procedure done before making any other drastic moves in regard to pilonidal disease. A lot of doctors (including my former primary care) couldn't even correctly identify the disease, let alone prescribe an efficient and effective treatment. If you have the means, turn to the Sternberg Clinic. If you're unsure if you have the means, reach out anyway and they will offer you the best advice and help possible
Carla S.
Submitted 11/04/17
If you have a pilonodal cyst DO NOT GO TO ANYONE ELSE. Dr. S is not only incredibly professional, but his techniques and methodology are the most current and least invasive on your life. I can't stress this enough - had I gone to him first (had I known of him then) I would have saved 3 years, 4 surgeries, hours and hours of doctor and hospital visits and most importantly my confidence and sanity. He even still checks in with me years later to ensure that I am still doing well. He worked with my local doctor post-op to ensure I was getting proper care. He is what other doctors should aspire to be.
Michele D.
Submitted 10/27/17
My son had 2 previous and unsuccessful surgeries to remove the "cyst" near his tailbone. When the Dr told us he needed a third surgery I wanted a second opinion. I researched Pilonidal disease and Dr Sternberg's name kept coming up. I called his office and explained my sons situation and they saw us right away. We were able to scheduled the surgery quickly and were given all the necessary information. The surgery was a complete success and the recovery was shorter than the previous surgeries. Dr Sternberg and his staff were great! They took time to explain everything and make sure my son was comfortable about the procedure. I wish I found Dr Sternberg years ago and my son would have had a much different experience with Pilonidal disease. I can't thank dr Sternberg and his staff enough for the excellent care they provided.
Alex S.
Submitted 10/16/17
I am grateful to the doctor Jeffrey Sternberg for his professionalism. for his tremendous intuition and desire to help the patient. A few years ago he saved my life by doing a complicated operation to remove rectal cancer. After the operation, every year I am examined by a doctor and feel his care for the patient. Thank you doctor!
Susan S.
Submitted 10/05/17
Dr. Sternberg is a PHENOMENAL surgeon with the highest credentials, tremendous experience with pilonidal disease, and a heart of gold for his patients. My son had suffered from pilonidal disease for 6 ½ years and had 4 previous failed surgeries. Three different surgeons (one operated on him twice) told us that the only means of healing a "pilonidal cyst" was open or closed excision. They collectively removed increasing amounts of internal gluteal tissue and each surgery took months to heal, would never remain healed, and the surgeons' responses were always that the tract must not have been completely removed and that they needed to perform another surgery to remove more tissue. Not only did the procedures these surgeons employed not heal my son of pilonidal disease but, in fact, the surgeries created wounds that worsened his conditioned. The purpose in leaving the wound unsutured in open excision is so that the wound is able to heal from the inside out. In the final two of my son’s open excision surgeries we paid for the aid of professional wound care centers to assure that happened. The wound care physicians could heal the wounds temporarily but they always reopened at the slightest provocation even after twenty-four 2 hour sessions in a hyperbaric chamber. My son lost the ability to play intramural sports in college, missed out on numerous social events while he was recovering from surgery and wounds were unhealed, experienced continual pain, and suffered from the embarrassment of draining wounds that stained his clothes. We finally began searching for an expert surgeon anywhere in the United States for pilonidal disease. We would have traveled anywhere in the world. It was through that search that we found Dr. Sternberg, an expert in healing pilonidal disease. Dr. Sternberg gave us information that shed light on years’ worth of confusion, frustration, and heartache. He gave us a detailed description of pilonidal disease and its causes. He explained the cleft lift procedure that he performs thoroughly in words, text, and with photos and diagrams. He explained exactly what to expect after surgery and taught us in numerous ways how to care for our son’s surgical drain post-surgery. And Dr. Sternberg was communicative throughout the entire process. He called us before we flew to San Francisco, met with us the day before surgery, met with us the day of surgery both before and after, called us the evening of surgery to check on our son, and met with us the day after surgery to assure that we understood how to care for the surgical drain and to see that our son was doing well before we flew home, over 2,000 miles away. None of our other surgeons had come close to offering this type of explanation, communication, and care. In addition, Dr. Sternberg remained available to answer any question that we had once we returned home. I realize now that not only did our son have physical wounds from pilonidal disease and 4 failed surgeries, but our family had emotional wounds from the suffering that the experience of 6 ½ years had brought. Through Dr. Sternberg’s knowledge of pilonidal disease, expertise in an effective surgical procedure to heal it, compassion in listening and responding to our many questions, and continued support throughout our son’s recovery, he has not just healed our son but he has healed our family. I am forever grateful for Dr. Sternberg who exemplifies in every possible measure all that is good in not only the health care profession but humanity as a whole. I truly cannot give him high enough praises. As a mother who was the primary caregiver for a son who suffered with pilonidal disease for years, I implore you to seek his help. We flew from the East to the West Coast to see him and we are only sorry that we did not do it sooner. Thank you, Dr. Sternberg, for giving our son his life back!!!